DUI Class Hours by State

While laws change from time to time, following is a list of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) and Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) laws state-by-state with the most-recent requirements for satisfying a conviction for driving under the influence of alcohol or other drugs.

Some states use different terminology for alcohol and drug-related driving offenses. Other terms include: Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI), Operating Under the Influence (OUI) and Operating While Intoxicated (OWI).

How many hours are required for an Alabama DUI Class?

First-time offenders are required to take a 12-hour Level I DUI class. The course requirement for a 2nd DUI offense is a Level II 24-hour class.

How many hours are required for an Alaska DUI Class?

A minimum of a 12-hour DUI class is required for driving under the influence.

How many hours are required for an Arizona DUI Class?

A 16-hour DUI class is required for a 1st offense DUI.

How many hours are required for an Arkansas DUI Class?

First-time offenders are required to take a 12-hour Level I DUI/DWI class. The course requirement for repeat offenders is a Level II 24-hour class.

How many hours are required for an California DUI Class?

A 12-Hour Wet Reckless class is one of the classes that could be required for a 1st offense DUI. You may also have to take a 3-month AB-541 Class. Some will be required to take a 9-month, 60-hour alcohol and drug education counseling program.

How many hours are required for an Colorado DUI Class?

First-time offenders are required to take a 12-hour Level I DUI/DWI class. The course requirement for a 2nd DUI/DWI offense is a Level II 24-hour class. The requirements are the same for those convicted of a Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) offense.

How many hours are required for an Connecticut DUI Class?

First-time offenders are required to take a 12-hour Level I DUI/DWI class. The course requirement for a 2nd DUI/DWI offense is a Level II 24-hour class. The requirements are the same for those convicted of a Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) offense.

How many hours are required for an Delaware DUI Class?

A 16-hour DUI class is required for all Delaware first-offense DUI infractions.

How many hours are required for an Florida DUI Class?

First-time offenders are required to take a 12-hour Level I DUI/DWI Risk Reduction Class. The course requirement for repeat offenders is a Level II 21-hour DUI/DWI Risk Reduction Class.

How many hours are required for an Georgia DUI Class?

In Georgia, 20-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Hawaii DUI Class?

A 14-hour Alcohol Rehabilitation Program is required for all Hawaii first-offense DUI offenders.

How many hours are required for an Idaho DUI Class?

A 20-hour DUI class is required for all Idaho DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Illinois DUI Class?

A 20-hour DUI class is required for all Illinois DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Indiana OWI Class?

A 20-hour OWI class is required for all Operating While Intoxicated violations.

How many hours are required for an Iowa OWI Class?

A 12-hour OWI class is required for all Operating While Intoxicated violations.

How many hours are required for an Kansas DUI Class?

A minimum of 20 hours of DUI education must be completed. The 20-hour class applies to those with DUI, DWI and OUI offenses.

How many hours are required for an Kentucky DUI Class?

A 20-hour DUI class is required for all Kentucky DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Louisiana OWI Class?

A 10-hour OWI class is required for all Operating While Intoxicated violations.

How many hours are required for an Maine OWI Class?

A 20-hour OUI class is required for all Maine Operating Under the Influence convictions.

How many hours are required for an Maryland DUI Class?

A 12-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Massachusetts OUI Class?

A 40-hour OUI class is required for all Operating Under the Influence convictions.

How many hours are required for an Michigan OUI Class?

A 22-hour OWI class is required for all Operating While Intoxicated violations.

How many hours are required for an Minnesota DWI/DUI Class?

A 20-hour DWI/DUI class is required for all driving under the influence and driving while intoxicated infractions in Minnesota.

How many hours are required for an Mississippi DUI Class?

A 12-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Missouri DWI Class?

First-time offenders are required to take a 10-hour Level I DWI class. The course requirement for repeat offenders is a Level II 20-hour DWI class.

How many hours are required for an Montana DWI Class?

A 12-hour DUI class is required for all Montana DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Nebraska DWI Class?

A 20-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Nevada DWI Class?

A 8-hour DUI class is required for 1st time Nevada DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an New Hampshire DWI Class?

A 20-hour DWI class is required for all driving while intoxicated violations.

How many hours are required for an New Jersey DWI or DUI Class?

A 12-hour DWI/DUI class is required for all driving under the influence and driving while intoxicated violations.

How many hours are required for an New Mexico DUI Class?

A 12-hour DUI class is required for New Mexico DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an New York DWI Class?

A 12-hour DWI class is required for all driving under the influence violations. The same requirement is needed for those convicted of a Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) violation.

How many hours are required for an North Carolina DWI Class?

A 16-hour DWI class is required for all first-offense DWI infractions.

How many hours are required for an North Dakota DUI Class?

A 16-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Ohio DUI Class?

A 72-hour Driver Intervention Course is required for all those convicted of driving under the influence (DUI).

How many hours are required for an Oklahoma DUI Class?

First-time offenders are required to take a 10-hour Level I DUI class. The course requirement for repeat offenders is a Level II 23-hour DUI class

How many hours are required for an Oregon DUI Class?

A 20-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Pennsylvania DUI Class?

A 12.5-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Rhode Island DUI Class?

A 12-hour DWI/DUI class is required for all driving under the influence and driving while intoxicated violations.

How many hours are required for an South Carolina DUI Class?

A 16-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an South Dakota DUI Class?

A 12-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Tennessee DUI Class?

A 12-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Texas DWI Class?

First-time offenders are required to take a 12-hour Level I DWI class. For a second offense the requirement is the Level II 32-hour DWI Repeat Offender Program.

How many hours are required for an Utah DUI Class?

A 16-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Vermont DUI Class?

A 12-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Virginia DUI Class?

A 20-hour DWI/DUI class is required for all driving under the influence and driving while intoxicated violations.

How many hours are required for an Washington State DUI Class?

An 8-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Washington, D.C. DUI Class?

A 20-hour class is required for a DUI/DWI offense.

How many hours are required for an West Virginia DUI Class?

An 18-hour DUI class is required for all West Virginia DUI violations.

How many hours are required for an Wisconsin DUI Class?

First-time offenders are required to take a 21-hour Level I DUI class. The course requirement for repeat offenders is a Level II 30-hour DUI class

How many hours are required for an Wyoming DUI Class?

An 8-hour DUI class is required for all DUI violations.

Please note that not all states accept online programs for their DUI class requirements. If you are in doubt, contact an attorney. If you believe that the hours listed above are not accurate, please let us know so that we may correct them.

Frequently Asked Questions