Online Alcohol Class offers the most comprehensive online MIP classes available in New Mexico. We offer Level 1 (8 hour), Level 2 (16 hour), and Level 3 (24 hour) online Minor in Possession and Minor in Consumption Classes.
Often students and parents call us to ask about the MIP laws in New Mexico. As a courtesy, we've compiled the laws from every state and listed them below.
Please note that the New Mexico MIP laws displayed on this page are meant to help help you to understand your local New Mexico laws. While we have tried to show the most up-to-date version of New Mexico MIP laws, but we do not guarantee its accuracy. This information is not a replacement for legal advice from a lawyer. It is in your best interest that you find an appropriate lawyer for more information about New Mexico minor in possession laws.
|6 Hour MIP Class||$124||Register Now|
|8 Hour (Level 1) MIP Class||$149||Register Now|
|12 Hour MIP Class||$199||Register Now|
|16 Hour (Level 2) MIP Class||$249||Register Now|
|24 Hour (Level 3) MIP Class||$319||Register Now|
Possession is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):
Notes: POSSESSION: In New Mexico beginning July 1, 2004, possession of alcoholic beverages by a person under 21 is specifically allowed when "a parent, legal guardian or adult spouse of a minor serves alcoholic beverages to that minor on real property, other than licensed premises, under the control of the parent, legal guardian or adult spouse.”
Consumption is not explicitly prohibited.
Internal possession is not explicitly prohibited.
Purchase is prohibited and there is NO ALLOWANCE for youth purchase for law enforcement purposes.
Furnishing is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):
Notes: In New Mexico beginning July 1, 2004, furnishing of alcoholic beverages to a person under 21 is specifically allowed when "a parent, legal guardian or adult spouse of a minor serves alcoholic beverages to that minor on real property, other than licensed premises, under the control of the parent, legal guardian or adult spouse,” or when "alcoholic beverages are used in the practice of religious beliefs." See N.M. Stat. Ann. § 60-7B-1(B).
Beer: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
Wine: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
Spirits: 19 for servers and 21 for bartenders
Provision(s) targeting minors:
Provision(s) targeting suppliers:
Provision(s) targeting retailers:
BAC limit: 0.02 - a BAC level above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence of a violation.
Applies to drivers under age 21.
Keg definition: more than 6 gallons
Purchaser information collected:
Warning information to purchaser: active – purchaser action required (e.g., signature)
Deposit: not required
Provisions do not specifically address disposable kegs
Type(s) of violation leading to driver's license suspension, revocation, or denial:
Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 18
Authority to impose driver's license sanction
Length of suspension/revocation: 90 days
No State-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties.